Mark Driscoll, Me, and Psalm 51

Mark Driscoll is the latest news in the media for scandal reports. How utterly shocking. *tongue-in-cheek* What saddens me most is to see how many “Christians” are bashing on him just as hard, if not harder, than the media.

Grace seems to be a lost art in Christianity today. What happened to helping those that stumble, fail, or fall down? Where is the lending hand that extends the love of Christ? Shame on you if you are one of these people.

I am not really a Mark Driscoll fan personally. But one thing does stick out with him that needs to be openly admired. He is bold in his approach, and he does not sugar coat his faith or the Bible. In fact, He might just be a little too bold. I commend that in him. He does not hide behind the skirt tales of legalism.

A long time ago, somewhere around the age of 16, my best friend Steve and I had an interesting conversation. I do not quite remember who brought it up, but this scenario will stick with me for the rest of my life. We were discussing prayer, faith, and our relationship with God. How many Christians have we met who make a relationship with God seem all hunky-dory?? At what point in your relationship with God do you show your true colors and “talk shop,” so to speak.

In my time, I have been accused of having a foul mouth. *horrors* So, when I talk to God, particularly when I am upset, why would I sugar coat who I am or my true feelings as if he is unaware? As Steve and I discussed our topic, we both realized something: being real with God, no reserve, is extremely freeing. Literally we talked about being upset and asking God, “What the F***…” on multiple occasions (in so many words). Talking to God out of pure emotion, letting yourself go all out in your expression, is being real with God.

All that to say this: I see that in Driscolls ministry. I am NOT saying that he does not have some flaws that should be scrutinized, but in all reality, who doesn’t?

Lets look at David in the Bible for a minute. In Psalm 51, he got real with God. He laid it all out with no reservation, no sugar coating, just raw emotion. He was agonizing over his sin with Bathsheba. I love the entire chapter, but I want to focus on one verse, verse 17.

“The sacrifice You desire is a broken spirit. You will not reject a broken and repentant heart, O God.” (NLT)

 Somewhere around five or six years ago, I got a tattoo on my forearm in Japanese that says “broken spirit.” It was right after my encounter at the Crossroads Great Banquet #23. God broke me at that conference, as you can clearly see if you read about it. In fact, my whole persona was shattered. There was nothing of me left. It was not long after that, God had all the pieces gathered up, and was diligently putting me back together.

Ah! Restoration. Very key in this thought process. Look at Driscoll right now. He is a broken man. He laid his ego, ambitions, and life’s work aside and resigned for the good of his family, and what I pray is a time of restoration that God has for him. What excites me most about watching all this chaos with Driscoll unfold is getting to see the new creation, the transformation, and ultimately the future endeavors that God has in store for this man.

I do not believe God is done with Mark. He has something greater, even better than before. No it may not be a 14,000 member church, but it will be a beautifully refined man that has been forged and strengthened.

My prayer for Mark Driscoll is that he embraces the healing and restoration God has for him. That from his breaking, he will repent of the heart issues he has, that is only between him and God.

In my own life, I look for the same restoration and healing. God has had me like an iron in the fire for such a long time. Many times I have been heated up, shaped, and reheated. The evidence is the amount of grace, mercy and love that has been placed on my life.

There is never a point in anyone’s life that is “too broken.” BE BROKEN, and let God do the rest.

Leave a Reply

