Optimism in the depths of Hell

We have all been there. Hell is an every day reality to so many. As the song by Five Finger Death Punch states: “I’m on the wrong side of heaven and the righteous side of hell.”

Every single one of us have daily struggles in our lives. Who is to say that someone’s life is a greater struggle than the next guy? What defines our struggles? Do we all handle these struggles the same way? I think not.

Throughout my entire life, I have been to the gates of Hell many times. So many struggles have brought the reality of pain and suffering that makes Hell itself look like bliss. So many addictions, chains, and obsessions have made my life feel squelched from all hope and peace.

Why?! You ask God over and over! Why me??

Even though I came close at one point in time, I have never served in the military. Yet I am a warrior. Take one look at me life, my past, the tests I have been put through, the battle fields I have been put on, and the prisons I have left in shambles. It would take hundreds, if not thousands, of pages to tell you where I have come from.

Why!?

Every soldier I know has been through many trials, tests, and been pushed to their breaking point. The ones who have survived are strong. Mighty warriors. Ready to storm the gates of Hell, not live at the foot of them!

Do you know what I am talking about? Have you been there? ARE you there now?? Prevail. Press on. Battle, and call on the aid of your friends, but most importantly your God.

He has already conquered Hell. It will NOT prevail. Do not give up.

I challenge every man to be a warrior, not only for himself, but for his family, and even for his friends. Aaron and Joshua held high the arms of Moses when he was weak. Do the same for your brother. Encourage each other in love.

Storm the gates of Hell with a union of warriors. You do not have to do it alone. You are not alone.

This is my challenge. This is where I stand. Lets start a Band of Brothers who cannot be broken.

Leave a Reply

