Words revealed

It is in our heart that we first hear the voice of God and it is in the heart that we come to know him and learn to live in his love.
~ John Eldredge, The Sacred Romance

This weekend has been filled with some amazing revelations. This morning at church particularly blew me away as a British pastor, and from what I can tell a spiritual giant, got up at Denver United and shared a word with the congregation that God has given to him this morning. I cannot quote him exactly but let me give you a paraphrase:
We are all in an elevator. When we are in an elevator we feel secure as we go up or down to whatever floor we want. At some point we have to get off of that elevator to go to the level that God has called us to get off on. It requires faith to step out and explore the unknown level God calls us to. We can, and should, do this without fear! God has already paved the way and plotted the course in which he has called us.

That may sound very simple, but for me it was profound. I have been wrestling with fear of the unknown and stepping out of what has become my comfort zone. I hate to say this, but I have almost forgotten what a blessing and relief it is to walk in faith, knowing God is leading the way.
In about 4 days I will be making my long trek to Arizona. All that anxiety I have had has been a lie, a way for the enemy to trap me and bring me down. Yesterday I had a break through as well. After a number of phone calls discussing an upcoming battle this Friday, it hit me that God has overcome and conquered the enemy.


We have grown dull toward this world in which we live; we have forgotten that it is not normal or scientific. It is fantastic. It is a fairy tale through and through.
~ John Eldredge, Epic
Since the new year I have decided to read a daily devotional, Knowing the Heart of God, a combination of key points of writing from John Eldredge’s other books. For as long as I can remember, I have had a hard time being diligent in daily devotions. So far this year I have done pretty well, and going through this book has been a great daily encouragement. My point for mentioning this is that all the spiritual revelations and words I have recieved have all flowed together. It has been a great daily reminder and comfort.

We won’t begin to understand our lives, or what this gospel is that Christianity speaks of, until we understand the Story in which we have found ourselves.
~ John Eldredge, Epic
That last quote by Eldredge is amazing. God has already laid out a timeline and chain of events. My story has been one of heartache, pain, betrayal, anger, and pride. When I chose to follow Christ, He transformed that into a story of healing, fulfillment, forgiveness, love, and peace. My story calls me to acts of faith, adventure, and submission to the will of my Father. There is no room for fear and doubt. 
The strife and trials of my life are not from God (Isaiah 54:15). As I walk this path, there are events that are about to take place that have been causing strive in the life of my little family. God promises to overcome and comfort (Isaiah 54:14, 16-17). He is our refuge and strength, and these battles we are fighting now will only draw us closer together. I will be posting a request of my readers later this week, please be watching for it.
As I read my devotions this morning I was listening to music, and these beautiful words captured my thoughts. They are a great reminder that as I walk in faith, I am protected and covered by God.

I am in love with you and there is no cost,
I am in love with you and there is no loss,
I am in love with you, 
I want to take your name,
I am in love with you,
I want to cling to you, Jesus,
Just let me cling to you, Jesus.
~ Misty Edwards, I Will Waste My Life

God is so good. I am at peace as I rest in His arms of love. 
Leave a Reply

