A weird day

All day I have felt very discouraged. What I find bizarre about that is this past weekend was one of the best weekends I have had since moving to CO. I went camping with a bunch of people up in Nederland, CO, literally out in the wilderness. On top of that I was stoked I finally got to take my truck off-road!

So why do I feel this way? Since I woke up I have felt overwhelmed with loneliness, missing friends and family, my son, and my dog Focus. Actually it has been so bad it is almost unbearable. I decided today that I am driving back to Indiana the second weekend of October so I can visit, see Ethan, and pack up Focus and the rest of my stuff.

I think in particular I miss coming home to Focus. He has been with me for several years, and even though he frequently gets under my skin, I miss his welcome home. He is also an excellent traveling companion. I call him my truck buddy. He loves when I grab my truck keys and gets all excited. I remember some of the long trips we have taken together where he is either looking out the window or laying in the front seat with his head on my lap. It cracks me up, because he is so possessive that he gets mad when he has to sit in the back seat when someone else rides with me.

Anyway. That is what is on my mind. Nothing special.

One thought on “A weird day

  1. You know, I find it ironic. When I saw your status on Facebook about missing Focus, I thought you were referring to your Focus with God. My bad! 😉

    On a serious note, I am glad that you are going back home to visit your family and most importantly your son.

    Though I am not a parent, I can sympathize with you in being away from your boy at such a young age. These are the times in his life where you'd need to be readily available and a constant in his life. He's still young and growing.

    I think you're doing the best you can and for that I find admirable. Just hang in there and enjoy every moment.

    God bless you Dave,
    Julie

    Like

Leave a Reply

