What do you reflect?

Go look in the mirror. I did. Most likely you did too if you woke up this morning and walked into the bathroom. This time though, go to the nearest mirror and stare into your own eyes. What do you see? Do they sparkle and shine? Are they happy? Are they sad? Are they dull and troubled?

Mine were troubled and anxious. All morning my frustration level has been high. Overwhelmed would be a good word to describe what I have felt. After yesterdays post, I found out that I have no choice but to fly back home to Indy next weekend. This really only complicates matters. Funds are not where they were planned to be, and ticket prices only get bigger and bigger as the days progress.

I had to stop. This is such a small, taboo issue in the broad spectrum of things. Grant it, my trip is a critical one for some personal reasons, but the extent of my feeling so overwhelmed is truly unnecessary. Did I not just write yesterday that I believed God had it all taken care of? Twenty-four hours later and I am back to freaking out. What is up with that?

*takes breath*

When I get so worked up, I have a very hard time praying. I think this is because I enjoy worrying so much that I do not want to let it go. There is always a way of escape though, and for me that is just sitting down and reading my Bible. It calls me down.

‎Consider and answer me, O Lord my God; light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death, lest my enemy say, “I have prevailed over him,” lest my foes rejoice because I am shaken. But I have trusted in your steadfast love; my heart shall rejoice in your salvation. I will sing to the Lord, because he has dealt bountifully with me. 
~ Psalm 13:3-6
There is one little phrase in that verse I want to focus on: light up my eyes, lest I sleep the sleep of death. Now do you understand why I want you to look in the mirror? Our eyes say so much about us. They reveal so many emotions. Have you ever looked at a picture of someone and it is so good, until you see their eyes. They fake a happy smile, yet their eyes speak the truth. Countless times I have had people tell me at different periods of my life that my eyes give me away. When I make changes in my life, people actually tell me it is good to see in my eyes that I am genuinely happy. Interesting is it not?
One thought on “What do you reflect?

  1. Funny you say:
    When I get so worked up, I have a very hard time praying. I think this is because I enjoy worrying so much that I do not want to let it go. There is always a way of escape though, and for me that is just sitting down and reading my Bible. It calls me down.

    Was commenting on another blog recently about this VERY topic. Like your explanation for this.

    I THINK most of us do get into a place where we enjoy the wallowing to some degree. It let's us know we are human. What those of us who are not steeped in the divine fail to recognize though is that there IS a way out of our challenges. All we have to do is ask for that help. Even those of us who DO know the divine sometimes fail to recall this simple solution. I know I have. It's nice to know however when I DO remember, all I have to do is reach out and my prayers will be answered.

    Such a good thing to know that my faith will ALWAYS see me through any challenge that crops up.

    Thank you fir this reminder, Dave!.

    Be Happy! Be Well! Be Positive!
    Blessings to you.

    Chris

    Like

Leave a Reply

