Waiting with expectancy

Someone asked me just a couple days ago if I thought it was weird that they would wake up with a song stuck in their head, almost to the point of singing it as they awoke. Of course being the sarcastic tease that I am said yes, as I have never had this happen to me. I spoke to soon.
This morning I woke up with The Stand by Hillsong United stuck in my head, and I think I was actually mumbling the lyrics as I groggily woke up. What is even more interesting is as soon as I got up, I was heavily prodded to hit my knees and discuss a few things with my Provider. Here, go ahead and check out that song if you do not know it.

So I’ll stand, with arms high and heart abandoned, in awe of the one who gave it all…convicted much? That part of the song hits me every time I hear it.

Sometimes I have to actually visit my own blog to re-read the things I write. Not only is it a good refresher course for the path God is leading me on, but I find it interesting to see the transition of the running theme. That could also be referred to as growth I think. As we grow in wisdom and strength, our challenges and struggles evolve. The important thing to remember though, is not to lose sight of old struggles lest we forget what a pit they were and fall back into them.

This morning theme has been prayer. As I already mentioned, I was convicted to start praying for some situations first thing this morning. My flesh was weak, actually more tired than anything, but regardless I obeyed the prodding. It started out as a simple prayer, almost selfish, then before I knew it I was just pouring my heart out in a way that surprised even me. It felt refreshing for the very first act of my day.

I continued reading in the Psalms. The day’s theme only deepened into a richer, sweeter scene. I want to share just a few verses that jumped out at me.

But you, O Lord, are a shield about me,
my glory, and the lifter of my head.
~ Psalm 3:3
But know that the Lord has set apart the godly for himself;
the Lord hears when I call to him.
Be angry,t and do not sin;
ponder in your own hearts on your beds, and be silent. Selah 
Offer right sacrifices,
and put your trust in the Lord.
~ Psalm 4:3-5

Lead me, O Lord, in your righteousness
because of my enemies;
make your way straight before me.
But let all who take refuge in you rejoice;
let them ever sing for joy,
and spread your protection over them,
that those who love your name may exult in you.
For you bless the righteous, O Lord;
you cover him with favor as with a shield.
~ Psalm 5:8; 11-12

These verses were complete confirmation. As David prayed, God heard him. God showed up. It goes to show that God listens to our every word when we diligently seek Him. There are so many promises wrapped up in those verses about God’s protection and provision.

Allow me to take this a step further. God tells us to approach the Throne of Grace with confidence and expect Him to listen (Hebrews 4:15-16). He understands our needs, but to be expectant of Him to provide for those needs takes a level of faith that is only achieved by laying aside our self-reliant pride. We sing and pray about surrounding every aspect of our lives, but when do we shut up and listen for His call and ACT upon that call.

To put this post in a nutshell, it is safe to say that God was simply meeting me where I am at this morning. He called me into a powerful conversation with Him; I submitted to that call; He provides confirmation; and my relationship with Him reaches a deeper level of intimacy.

4 thoughts on “Waiting with expectancy

  1. Wow Dave:
    First time visiting your blog and already compelled to comment. A couple of things stood out:

    Not only is it a good refresher course for the path God is leading me on, but I find it interesting to see the transition of the running theme. That could also be referred to as growth I think.

    My own blog transitioned a well from strictly Law of Attraction centered when I began to now very spiritual. Like you I felt God's subtle hand moving me in the spiritual direction.

    I see God at work in EVERY aspect of my life. The divine is EVERYWHERE. For those that see this and understand this, life is no longer a challenge. It's one one of the reasons I write my blog. I'm moving people forward, helping them see the God/The Divine/Source is in everything.

    So glad I found your blog. Just clicked follow on Networked Blogs. Looking forward to reading your blog regularly, Dave.

    Be Happy! Be Well! Be Positive!
    Blessings to you.

    Chris

    Like

  2. Chris –

    Thank you for reading and commenting! It DOES sound like we are at the same place. I liked what you said about life being less of a challenge when you can see God at work in every aspect. It is so true. It may make it less of a challenge, but does not subtract from the excitement!

    I am following you on NetworkedBlogs as well now! I look forward to reading!

    Dave

    Like

  3. Great post Dave, really thought provoking post. When I get chance I'm going to join you in reading your old posts. God longs to hear our prayers and has given us some marvelous prayer examples in the Psalms hasn't he 🙂 keep going mate and do take a look at my blog, I'd love your thoughts.

    Like

  4. Great post. I like your idea of reading past posts. I don't write a journal but much of my thoughts are written out on my blog, so I kind of use that as a resource to track the progression of my thoughts and experiences.

    I love your thoughts towards coming to God with expectancy. I think that speaks of faith. It takes faith in God to be expectant of His workings.

    Beautiful post 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

