Providence vs. Coincidence

This is a follow-up to yesterdays post. I really wanted to post this last night, but got home very late and was tired. After sleeping on my thoughts and spending some time with God this morning, there has been even greater clarity on what I want to say. All that to say, I am glad I did not post last night. *laughs*

I struggled with the heading for this post. It could also easily be titled Cry out to Jesus. Yesterday I expressed my frustration with fear of uncertainty and the future here in Colorado. I directly cried out yesterday, asking God to show up. He brought me here, but has yet to show me a clear direction. Grant it, it has only been a few days, but as funds run low, and bills pile up, well…I start to worry. That is my human nature.

The more I think about it, the more I believe that God doesn’t just show up for us. He wants us to invite Him to show up in our lives. Yes He knows all our needs, but if we are not actively inviting Him in, why would He force Himself in? That would be awkward if even a close friend did that, wouldn’t it? God has given us a free will, and desires that we would want Him in our lives. It goes hand in hand with surrendering. When I invite God to show up and take charge, I am surrendering my worries, fears, and whatever circumstances at the same time! You can not do one and not the other.

Last night, God answered the prayer I fervently prayed that morning. A few days ago I met an awesome person out here, another providential act of God, and she has been helping me get plugged in and connected! I was invited to attend a young adult group at a church in Highlands Ranch, CO. There I met some pretty cool people and was able to make some more connections. After a time of worship, the group leader got up and shared his testimony, explaining the leap of faith he made a few years ago. His message was based on Genesis 12, where God called Abraham to leave his home and follow Him, without a map of where exactly he was going. I was floored. Not only did this group leader have a very similar testimony to what I am going through, but the encouragement I received from his message was exactly what I needed to hear. It was assurance that no matter what things look like, God is ultimately in control and has a very specific plan.

God will not forsake those He calls to follow Him with almost insane faith. When I woke up this morning I went outside to see if it was still overcast, or if I could see the mountains in my backyard. It was kind of 50/50, but as soon as I saw that mountain line, the following passage popped into my head. It is a powerful reminder that God is always here for us, and He has every need and situation under His control.

I lift up my eyes to the hills.
From where does my help come?
My help comes from the Lord,
who made heaven and earth.

  He will not let your foot be moved;
he who keeps you will not slumber.
Behold, he who keeps Israel
will neither slumber nor sleep.

The Lord is your keeper;
the Lord is your shade on your right hand.
The sun shall not strike you by day,
nor the moon by night.

The Lord will keep you from all evil;
he will keep your life.
The Lord will keep
your going out and your coming in
from this time forth and forevermore.
~ Psalm 121

There is no doubt I have much learning and growing to do. The greatest challenge I see is staying in a place of absolute surrender. I have been listening to Third Day all morning and there are several songs that have been a blessing and encouragement to me. Here are some lyrics from The Mountain of God that I really like.

Even though the journey’s long 
And I know the road is hard 
Well, the One who’s gone before me 
He will help me carry on 
After all that I’ve been through 
Now I realize the truth 
That I must go through the valley 
To stand upon the mountain of God 

I apologize for such a lengthy post, but God has laid so much on my heart and mind this morning. For my devotions I read through the short book of 1 Timothy. In my worrying about bills and finances, this particular passage stood out and gave me some further assurance that God has all the details handled. There is no need for me to focus on the areas God has promised to take care of. As long as He remains my focus and contentment, my needs will be met.


 Now there is great gain in godliness with contentment, for we brought nothing into the world, and we cannot take anything out of the world. But if we have food and clothing, with these we will be content. But those who desire to be rich fall into temptation, into a snare, into many senseless and harmful desires that plunge people into ruin and destruction. For the love of money is a root of all kinds of evils. It is through this craving that some have wandered away from the faith and pierced themselves with many pangs. But as for you, O man of God, flee these things. Pursue righteousness, godliness, faith, love, steadfastness, gentleness. Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called and about which you made the good confession in the presence of many witnesses.
~ 1 Timothy 6:6-12



I could so easily say that the things that are happening out here and in my life are coincidences. That makes it all much more believable and explainable. That however is not the case. God’s providence is hard at work. He knows exactly the people I need to meet, the messages I need to hear, and the places I need to go. I have invited Him in, and will continue to do so daily. He is my provider, my comfort, and my strong tower.





2 thoughts on “Providence vs. Coincidence

  1. Hi Dave,

    I came across your blog via Facebook. Your story sounds pretty similar to mine. The first thing God did when I surrendered my life to Him was move me to an unfamiliar place and take away everything but Him. I actually ended up homeless for about three months, and I lived in a run-down hotel with drug dealers and prostitutes, and while I questioned His choices, I still followed. Now five years later, I'm a professor, married, have a 1 year old son, am better off financially than I ever have been in my life though we give most of it away, and I'm still following God wherever He leads.

    Entering the Manifest Presence of the Divine

    Like

  2. Stephen –

    Thank you so much for stopping by and sharing that with me! Sounds like God has given you an incredible testimony as well and blessed you for your obedience to Him.

    I would love to hear more of your story. You should add me on Facebook and we could talk there.

    God bless you brother!

    Like

Leave a Reply

