Thoughtful dreams

Not everyone may agree with me here, but I believe in prophetic dreams. I also believe that God speaks to us through our dreams. Now obviously, one has to be very careful and discerning when trying to interpret a dream, and I would test and carefully consider anyone who claims these kind of dreams.

Since I was young, I have had some amazing dreams that have some may call supernatural or strange. Some of these dreams were far from pleasant; others were truly prophetic of various scenarios that I have been able to see play out in my life. I believe that in the years to come, dreams and other wonders are going to become more and more common, as I believe we are nearing the return of Christ. That however is an entirely different discussion.

Last night I had a whole slew of dreams, but as I woke up and reflected on them, there was one thing God had laid on my heart: “Draw closer to me Dave. Become more intimate with me, because there is something I want to show you. Start reading in the book of Job.” It was a very strange feeling, and as I prayed about it, I felt the heavy promptings of the Holy Spirit. So I obeyed.

Job has always been an inspiration to me, and I have read it a couple times. I strongly identify with the struggles of life that Job went through, but I sense that there is something bigger than that identification that God is wanting to show me here.

I read chapters one and two this morning, and will progressively work on this throughout the week. What struck me in the first to chapters is just how strong Job’s intimacy with God is. Nothing shook him. Four separate messengers came to him bearing devastating news, yet here is Job’s response (1:21):

“Naked I came from my mothers womb, and naked shall I return. The Lord gave, and the Lord has taken away; blessed be the name of the Lord.”
Check that out, Job WORSHIPED God in the middle of his devastation! Go to 2:3, where Satan comes back before God, and see the pedestal of honor on which God places Job: 
“Have you considered my servant Job, that there is none like him on the earth, a blameless and upright man, who fears God and turns away from evil? He still holds fast his integrity, although you incited me against him to destroy him without reason.”  

Even in my wildest dreams, I could not imagine God saying that about me. That really blew me away, and stirred up some questions in my mind. 
As a son of the King, what level of integrity and character am I living by, particular in the “valleys” of my life? Where is the mark of standards for my life? Grant it, these are things I have been working on in my life, but the realization that God holds those concepts in such high regard really has me thinking.
Heavy thoughts to consider today, but very thankful they are on my mind. 
Happy Easter everyone! Christ is risen from the dead, and that is WHY I trek on this path.
Leave a Reply

