Sinking in an ocean of grace

I just got home after a very long day. Got off work at six, spent dinner and the evening with a friend of mine, and had a wonderful, relaxing time. However I did not get home and get the cleaning done that was on my schedule of evening plans. Oh well. 🙂 As I left my friend’s house and got in the car, my favorite song “How He Loves Us” by the David Crowder Band came on.

You know, it seems that every year I tell myself that things are going to be better, and every year things happen that I do not want to happen. This particular year has been bad in several ways, and some rough situations have risen to the surface. Every one of these situations have been 100% my fault and could have been avoided multiple ways. It all goes back to living our lives carefully and sowing good, that we may reap good. Interestingly enough, as I listened to the lyrics that DCB sang, it is evident in my life that God can take even my worst situations and turn them into good for His purposes. As I look at the next couple years in my life I see some great and challenging things! Some significant blinders have been lifted off my eyes and I feel like I can see a light at the end of the tunnel. There is hope, a future, and a reason to press on towards the goals He lies before me. “I don’t have time to maintain these regrets, when I think about the way…He loves us.” Those lyrics are profound! There is nothing I have done in my life at any point in time that I am damned to wallow in. My guilt, shame, and pride are no match for His love, mercy, and grace.

That truth really has me captivated tonight. I feel a sense of freedom I haven’t felt in a little while, and it feels good. I’m letting go of the past, and embracing what the future He has for me.

Leave a Reply

